Select Page

Corral Named Finalist for Conerly Trophy

Corral Named Finalist for Conerly Trophy

JACKSON, Miss. – (Release) Ole Miss quarterback Matt Corral is one of 10 finalists for the 2021 C Spire Conerly Trophy, the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame announced Monday.

The C Spire Conerly Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding college football player in Mississippi. The winner will be announced Nov. 30 at the Country Club of Jackson.

The junior from Ventura, California, has completed 67 percent of his passes for 2,774 yards and 17 touchdowns, with just two interceptions. Corral also has 523 yards on the ground with 10 TDs.

The 10 rushing TDs are the third-most ever by a Rebel quarterback in a single season. He ranks No. 10 in the FBS in total offense (329.7. He is one of just two quarterbacks nationally to have thrown for at least 15 touchdowns and run for at least 10 TDs.

Corral is a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award, Walter Camp Player of the Year, Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award and the Davey O’Brien Award.

Named after College Football Hall of Famer and Ole Miss legend Charlie Conerly, the trophy was first conferred in 1996. The Conerly Trophy has been awarded to an Ole Miss player nine times, more than any other program: Stewart Patridge (1997), Deuce McAllister (1999), Eli Manning (2001, 2003), Patrick Willis (2006), Bo Wallace (2012), Evan Engram (2016), A.J. Brown (2017) and Elijah Moore (2020).

Alcorn State – DB Juwan Taylor
Belhaven – RB Brad Foley
Delta State – LB Marvin Terry
Jackson State – QB Shedeur Sanders
Millsaps – WR Moïse Tezzo
Mississippi College – LB Jonathan Jones
Mississippi State – QB Will Rogers
Mississippi Valley State – RB Caleb Johnson
Ole Miss – QB Matt Corral
Southern Miss – DB Malik Shorts

About The Author

Evelyn Van Pelt

Evelyn has covered sports for over two decades, beginning her journalism career as a sports writer for a newspaper in Austin, Texas. She attended Texas A&M and majored in English. Evelyn's love for Ole Miss began when her daughter Katie attended the university on a volleyball scholarship--and continued as she watched Katie receive three degrees from Ole Miss, culminating with her Pharm D. in 2012. Evelyn, a member of the FWAA, USBWA and the NCBWA, has covered Rebel sports for numerous outlets. In addition to working for The Rebel Walk, Evelyn is a sports writer for a newspaper in Texas.

Leave a Reply

Visit The Rebel Walk Forum


Get RW Updates

Rebel Walk on Twitter

%d bloggers like this: