Select Page

Media predicts Alabama to win league in rematch of SEC Championship Game

Media predicts Alabama to win league in rematch of SEC Championship Game

SEC Football Media Days concluded Thursday with media in attendance predicting Alabama to win the 2019 SEC Championship over Georgia in a rematch of last season’s SEC Championship Game.

Alabama received 203 votes to be crowned SEC Champion on December 7 in Atlanta at Mercedes-Benz Stadium, while Georgia was second with 49 votes.

Georgia was selected to win the SEC Eastern Division with 1,789 points, including 233 first-place votes, while Florida was second with 1,499 points and 21 votes to win the division. Missouri was third with 1,149 total points. Points were awarded on a 7-6-5-4-3-2-1 scale.

Alabama was picked to win the SEC Western Division with 1,813 total points, while LSU was second with 1,493. Texas A&M was third with 1,268 points and Auburn was fourth with 1090. With 769 points, Mississippi State was predicted to finish fifth, while Ole Miss was picked sixth in the West with 504 points. The media picked Arkansas to finish seventh in the division with 343 points.

It is worth noting only seven times since 1992 has the predicted champion at SEC Media Days proceeded to win the SEC Championship Game, including last season’s thrilling classic.


Alabama set a new record with 12 members selected to the First Team. The previous record was 10 by Alabama in 2017. Conversely, Ole Miss was completely shut out of preseason recognition, with no Rebel being named to any of the first, second or third teams.



QB       Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama
RB        D’Andre Swift, Georgia
RB        Najee Harris, Alabama
WR       Jerry Jeudy, Alabama
WR       Henry Ruggs III, Alabama
TE         Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri
OL        Andrew Thomas, Georgia
OL        Alex Leatherwood, Alabama
OL        Prince Tega Wanogho, Auburn
OL        Jedrick Wills Jr., Alabama
C          Lloyd Cushenberry, LSU


QB        Jake Fromm, Georgia
RB        Ke’Shawn Vaughn, Vanderbilt
RB        Lamical Perine, Florida
WR       Kalija Lipscomb, Vanderbilt
WR       Jaylen Waddle, Alabama
TE        Jared Pinkney, Vanderbilt
OL        Solomon Kindley, Georgia
OL        Damien Lewis, LSU
OL        Tre’Vour Wallace-Simms, Missouri
OL        Isaiah Wilson, Georgia
C          Darryl Williams, Mississippi State


QB        Joe Burrow, LSU
RB        Larry Rountree, Missouri
RB        JaTarvious Whitlow, Auburn
WR       Justin Jefferson, LSU
WR       Bryan Edwards, South Carolina
TE        *Miller Forristall, Alabama
TE        *Charlie Woerner, Georgia
OL        Deonte Brown, Alabama
OL        Ben Cleveland, Georgia
OL        Logan Stenberg, Kentucky
OL        Matt Womack, Alabama
C          Drake Jackson, Kentucky



DL         Raekwon Davis, Alabama
DL         Derrick Brown, Auburn
DL         Rashard Lawrence, LSU
DL        Jabari Zuniga, Florida
LB         Dylan Moses, Alabama
LB         Anfernee Jennings, Alabama
LB         Erroll Thompson, Mississippi State
DB        Grant Delpit, LSU
DB        J.R. Reed, Georgia
DB        Trevon Diggs, Alabama
DB        C.J. Henderson, Florida


DL        Nick Coe, Auburn
DL        Justin Madubuike, Texas A&M
DL        Marlon Davidson, Auburn
DL        Javon Kinlaw, South Carolina
LB        Cale Garrett, Missouri
LB         De’Jon Harris, Arkansas
LB        David Reese II, Florida
DB        Patrick Surtain II, Alabama
DB        Xavier McKinney, Alabama
DB        Kristian Fulton, LSU
DB        Cameron Dantzler, Mississippi State


DL        LaBryan Ray, Alabama
DL        McTelvin Agim, Arkansas
DL        Chauncey Rivers, Mississippi State
DL        Tyler Clark, Georgia
LB        Terrell Lewis, Alabama
LB        Jacob Phillips, LSU
LB         Kash Daniel, Kentucky
DB        DeMarkus Acy, Missouri
DB        Shyheim Carter, Alabama
DB        Richard LeCounte, Georgia
DB        Daniel Thomas, Auburn



P           Braden Mann, Texas A&M
PK        Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia
RS        Jaylen Waddle, Alabama
AP        Jaylen Waddle, Alabama


P          Tommy Townsend, Florida
PK        Anders Carlson, Auburn
RS        Marquez Callaway, Tennessee
AP        Kadarius Toney, Florida


P           Arryn Siposs, Auburn
PK        Evan McPherson, Florida
RS        Jashaun Corbin, Texas A&M
AP        Lynn Bowden, Kentucky

* – Indicates a tie

About The Author

Evelyn Van Pelt

Evelyn has covered sports for over two decades, beginning her journalism career as a sports writer for a newspaper in Austin, Texas. She attended Texas A&M and majored in English. Evelyn's love for Ole Miss began when her daughter Katie attended the university on a volleyball scholarship--and continued as she watched Katie receive three degrees from Ole Miss, culminating with her Pharm D. in 2012. Evelyn, a member of the FWAA, USBWA and the NCBWA, has covered Rebel sports for numerous outlets. In addition to working for The Rebel Walk, Evelyn is a sports writer for a newspaper in Texas.

Leave a Reply

Visit The Rebel Walk Forum


Get RW Updates

Rebel Walk on Twitter

%d bloggers like this: