Select Page

DeVante Kincade named to Walter Payton Award Watch List

DeVante Kincade named to Walter Payton Award Watch List

DeVante KincadeGrambling State quarterback DeVante Kincade, a transfer from Ole Miss, has been added to the Walter Payton Award Watch List, honoring the FCS Offensive Player of the Year.

Kincade is having an exceptional season for the Tigers. He is the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) leader in the following categories:

  • Total offense (2,286 yards)
  • Average total offense per game (326.6 ypg)
  • Passing yards per game (292.6)
  • Passing touchdowns (23)
  • Pass efficiency rating (184.3) – (also ranks second in the nation)

Kincade also sports a phenomenal 23:1 touchdown to interception ratio, by far the best in the country. Sam Houston State’s Jeremiah Briscoe has the second-closest mark at 8:1.

A season of superlatives


DeVante Kincade, shown here playing QB for Ole Miss, leads the SWAC in numerous categories.

Kincade has tallied two games with five touchdowns or more this season, including two 400-yard passing games.

He dismantled SWAC defending champion Alcorn State with 400 yards passing and five TDs and added another 58 yards and one TD on the ground.

In adding Kincade to the watch list, the committee noted:

“He’s a gritty leader who brings confidence to the Grambling offense.”

Thus far this season, Kincade has been honored five times by the Southwestern Athletic Conference. On September 12 and October 31, he was named SWAC Newcomer of the Week.

On September 24, October 3, and October 24, Kincade was named SWAC Offensive Player of the Week.

Kincade still loved by Rebels

Ole Miss supporters still have a lot of love for Kincade, and vice versa. Rebels have kept up with Kincade’s accolades this season and frequently congratulate him on social media.

Ole Miss head coach Hugh Freeze tweeted his former QB last month, obviously proud of what the Dallas, Texas native is accomplishing.

Kincade always responds with appreciation for Ole Miss fans–commenting how they have been with him “since my senior year in high school.”

Selection Info

The Walter Payton Award is in its 30th year. The winner of will be selected by a national panel of over 150 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries following the regular season.

(Feature image credit: Jennifer Stewart/Getty Images)

About The Author

Joel Jackson

Originally from Memphis, TN, Joel moved to Houston in 2003 and fell in love with the sports scene. He loves all sports and has covered everything from hot dog eating contests to bowl games. He is a proud member of the Football Writer’s Association of America.

Leave a Reply

Visit The Rebel Walk Forum


Get RW Updates

Rebel Walk on Twitter

%d bloggers like this: