Select Page

Four SEC schools chosen as regional baseball sites

Four SEC schools chosen as regional baseball sites

The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee has announced the 16 regional sites for the 2015 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, and four Southeastern Conference schools will be regional hosts. The four SEC schools hosting are:

LSU (48-10) – Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Texas A&M (45-11) – College Station, Texas
Florida (44-16) – Gainesville, Florida
Vanderbilt (42-18) – Nashville, Tennessee

On Monday, May 25, Ole Miss will find out exactly where its road to Omaha begins.

The other 12 regional sites are as follows:

Illinois (47-8-1) – Champaign, Illinois
Miami (Fla.) (44-14) – Coral Gables, Florida
Dallas Baptist (43-13) – Dallas, Texas
TCU (43-11) – Fort Worth, Texas
Cal State Fullerton (34-22) – Fullerton, California
Houston (42-18) – Houston, Texas
UC Santa Barbara (40-15-1) – Lake Elsinore, California
UCLA (42-14) – Los Angeles, California
Louisville (43-16) – Louisville, Kentucky
Missouri State (45-10) – Springfield, Missouri
Oklahoma State (37-18) – Stillwater, Oklahoma
Florida State (41-19) – Tallahassee, Florida

Because they have been awarded a regional, all the above 16 teams have, therefore, been selected to the 64-team championship bracket.

Top 8 national seeds, complete bracket released May 25

The top 8 national seeds, as well as the remaining seeds, will be announced Monday, May 25 at 11:00 am (CT) on ESPNU when the committee releases the entire 64-team bracket through both super regionals and the first round of the Men’s College World Series.

There will be a total of 31 Division I conferences which will receive an automatic berth to the field of 64 teams. There will be 33 at-large selections.

Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, May 29 to Monday, June 1 (if necessary).

Eight super regional hosts announced June 1

Following the conclusion of regionals, the announcement of the selection of the eight super regional hosts will be made on on Monday, June 1 at 10:00 pm (CT).

SEC teams have hosted multiple times

LSU will be hosting for the 23rd time. The Tigers are one of three schools (including Florida State with 32 and Miami, Fla. with 26) who have hosted for the 20th time or more. Texas A&M will be hosting for the 10th time, while Vanderbilt will be a regional host for the fifth time.

Rebels are 7-6 against five of the 16 regional hosts
The Rebels have faced 5 of this year’s 16 regional hosts, going a combined 7-6 against them, as follows: 1-1 vs. Louisville; 2-1 vs. Florida; 1-2 vs. LSU; 2-1 vs. Vanderbilt; and, 1-1 vs. A&M. Ole Miss will find out its NCAA Regional Tournament destination on Monday, May 25. The 64-team field for the 2015 NCAA Division 1 Baseball Tournament will be revealed at 11:00 am (CT) on ESPNU.

Stay tuned to The Rebel Walk for the complete 64-field team when it is announced Monday, May 25.


About The Author

Evelyn Van Pelt

Evelyn has covered sports for over two decades, beginning her journalism career as a sports writer for a newspaper in Austin, Texas. She attended Texas A&M and majored in English. Evelyn's love for Ole Miss began when her daughter Katie attended the university on a volleyball scholarship. Evelyn created the Rebel Walk in 2013 and has served as publisher and managing editor since its inception.

Leave a Reply

Get RW Updates