Select Page

MoMo Sanogo named Chair of SEC Football Leadership Council

MoMo Sanogo named Chair of SEC Football Leadership Council

OXFORD, Miss. — Ole Miss linebacker MoMo Sanogo has been named Chair of the Southeastern Conference Football Leadership Council as announced by the league office Monday. 

Joining MoMo is Tennessee’s Alontae Taylor who will serve as Vice Chair. 

MoMo Sanogo closes in on Aggie QB Kellen Mond. (Photo: Peter Rocha, The Rebel Walk)

After having served as Vice Chair, MoMo was elevated to the top position this year. He and Taylor will attend a portion of the SEC Spring Meetings in May where they will meet with leaders in the Conference and offer their feedback on legislative proposals being considered by the league. 

According to the SEC, the leadership councils “serve as a conduit to the conference office on issues related to student-athlete experience and student-athlete wellness.”

MoMo, who will be serving for the second year as the Rebels’ representative on the Football Leadership Council, started all 12 games for Ole Miss in 2018 and finished as the leader on the team in total tackles (112) and fifth, overall, in the SEC. The Plano, TX native is one of just two Rebels in the last 12 years to tally 100 or more tackles in a season. 

Early in the 2019 season, Sanogo, a banking and finance major, sustained a season-ending injury but is expected to return to the 2020 Rebels.

Here are some of the awards MoMo has earned during his time at Ole Miss: 

  • 2019 Butkus Award Watch List
  • 2019 Preseason All-SEC Third Team (Lindy’s)
  • 2019 Preseason All-SEC Fourth Team (Athlon, Phil Steele)
  • 2019 SEC Football Student-Athlete Leadership Council
  • 2018 SEC Fall Academic Honor Roll
  • 2018 Dean’s Fall Honor Roll
  • 2017 SEC Fall Academic Honor Roll

SEC Football Leadership Council

In addition to MoMo, the student-athletes who comprise the SEC Football Leadership Council are: Mac Jones (Alabama), Jordan Silver (Arkansas), Kameron Brown (Auburn), Kaiir Elam (Florida), Kearis Jackson (Georgia), Josh Paschal (Kentucky), Avery Atkins (LSU), Kobe Jones (Mississippi State), Larry Rountree III (Missouri), Ryan Hilinski (South Carolina), Alontae Taylor (Tennessee), Andre White Jr. (Texas A&M) and Cam Robinson (Vanderbilt)

About The Author

Evelyn Van Pelt

Evelyn has covered sports for over two decades, beginning her journalism career as a sports writer for a newspaper in Austin, Texas. She attended Texas A&M and majored in English. Evelyn's love for Ole Miss began when her daughter Katie attended the university on a volleyball scholarship--and continued as she watched Katie receive three degrees from Ole Miss, culminating with her Pharm D. in 2012. Evelyn, a member of the FWAA, USBWA and the NCBWA, has covered Rebel sports for numerous outlets. In addition to working for The Rebel Walk, Evelyn is a sports writer for a newspaper in Texas.

Leave a Reply

Visit The Rebel Walk Forum


Get RW Updates

Rebel Walk on Twitter

%d bloggers like this: