Select Page

Ole Miss Athletes Steal the Show at C Spire Awards

by | May 24, 2021 | Football, Men's Basketball, Women's Basketball | 0 comments

Shakira Austin, Elijah Moore, Devontae Shuler and Royce Newman bring home the awards for best in state

JACKSON, Miss. – Ole Miss stole the show Monday during The Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame virtual presentation of the C Spire Outstanding Player awards. The C Spire awards recognize the best college athletes in the state of Mississippi in basketball, football, and baseball.

Four of the five awards went to Ole Miss athletes for their memorable 2020-21 seasons.

Shakira Austin – Gillom Trophy

Junior forward Shakira Austin of the women’s basketball team was the first Rebel of the day to secure an award as she was named the winner of the 2021 C Spire Gillom Trophy. The award is given to the most outstanding women’s college basketball player in the state of Mississippi — and Austin becomes the school’s very first winner in program history.

Her first season in Oxford, after transferring from Maryland, was exceptional. She averaged 18.6 points per game, 9.1 rebounds, 1.8 blocks, 1.6 steals, 1.3 assists and shot 51.9 percent overall and 75.9 percent from the free throw line.

She was also the first Ole Miss player to earn First-Team All-SEC honors since Tia Faleru did so in 2014-15, as well as an Honorable Mention member of the WBCA Coaches All-America team.

Devontae Shuler – Howell Award

Up next was Devontae Shuler who was awarded the 2021 C Spire Howell Award for his remarkable senior season with the Rebels. The award goes to the top men’s basketball player in the state of Mississippi. The former Ole Miss guard was the first player to win the award since Sebastian Saiz (2017).

In his final season, and with more of a leadership role, Shuler had his best year, finishing with an average of 15.3 points per game and 3.3 assists. His assists and steals (1.6 per game) ranked seventh in the SEC, while he was eighth in the conference with a 1.4 assist/turnover ratio and 2.0 three-pointers made per game.

Shuler increased his scoring during SEC play, averaging 15.6 PPG for ninth in the conference rankings.

Elijah Moore – Conerly Trophy

Former Ole Miss wide receiver Elijah Moore was named recipient of the 2021 C Spire Conerly Trophy. The award recognizes the most outstanding college football player in Mississippi. Like Shuler, Moore is the first Ole Miss player to win the award since his good friend A.J. Brown won it in 2017.

This past April, Moore was selected with the No. 34 overall pick in the 2021 NFL Draft by the New York Jets. The upcoming NFL rookie set a program record with 86 receptions, which was good for 1,193 yards and eight touchdowns during his last season in a Rebel uniform (2020). Moore led the country in receiving yards per game (149.1) and receptions per game (10.8).

Royce Newman – Hull Trophy

The football awards didn’t stop there. After his 2020 campaign, former Ole Miss offensive lineman Royce Newman was awarded the Hull Trophy which recognizes the best college offensive lineman in Mississippi.

Newman, who started all 10 games in 2020 at right tackle for the Rebels, is the third Ole Miss lineman to win the award, joining Laremy Tunsil (2014) and Fahn Cooper (2015). Newman was part of an Ole Miss offense that finished the season ranked top 20 in the FBS in nine separate offensive categories, including No. 3 in total offense per game (555.5)

He allowed just three sacks in 847 pass blocks over the last two seasons and was drafted by the Green Bay Packers in the fourth round with the No. 142 overall pick.

Hotty Toddy and congratulations to these outstanding Rebels!

(Feature image credits: Josh McCoy, Ole Miss)

Tyler Komis
Tyler Komis

Tyler Komis is currently a sophomore at the University of Mississippi majoring in Broadcast Journalism. The Princeton, New Jersey native is also a reporter for the school’s media center with Rebel Radio.

Recruiting Updates

Visit The Rebel Walk Forum


Get RW Updates

Rebel Walk on Twitter

%d bloggers like this: