Select Page

Jacob Gonzalez, Tim Elko, and Hunter Elliott Named to All-SEC Baseball Teams

by | May 23, 2022 | Baseball | 0 comments

Gonzalez, Elko and Elliott Recognized by League Head CoachesBIRMINGHAM, Ala. –  (From wire reports) The Southeastern Conference announced the 2022 All-SEC baseball teams on Monday, with Ole Miss having three players receiving postseason honors from the conference office.Sophomore Jacob Gonzalez was named First Team All-SEC at shortstop, while Tim Elko received his first All-SEC nod at first base, landing on the Second Team. Meanwhile, starting pitcher Hunter Elliott earned a spot on the Freshman All-SEC team.A Freshman All-SEC honoree in 2021, Gonzalez takes home his first First Team All-SEC nod after a standout season at shortstop. The California native batted .280 on the season, ranking fifth in the conference in walks (44), eighth in runs scored (57) and 10th in home runs (16), pacing the Rebels with a .417 on-base percentage. The sophomore saved his power supply for league action, registering 12 of 16 homers against SEC opposition.Rounding out one of the more memorable careers in recent program-history, Elko earns his first All-SEC nod after earning Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors a year ago. The native Floridian has hammered 19 home runs this season, the third most ever by a Rebel to move into second place all-time in career home runs at 41. In SEC action, Elko is batting .319 in SEC play this season, matching Gonzalez’s 12 homers against conference teams. The fifth-year senior has racked up 61 RBIs this season, the third most in the league.Tupelo, Mississippi, native Hunter Elliott earned one of 13 spots on the Freshman All-SEC squad. The lefty posted a 3.29 ERA on the season, the seventh lowest in the SEC, ranking 11th in the league in strikeouts (74), including seventh in strike outs looking (26). Elliott’s .214 opponent batting average is the seventh lowest in the SEC. A two-time SEC Freshman of the Week, Elliott has garnered a 3.43 ERA against conference foes.

2022 SEC Baseball Awards

Co-Player of the Year: Dylan Crews, LSU
Co-Player of the Year: Sonny DiChiara, Auburn
Pitcher of the Year: Chase Dollander, Tennessee
Freshman of the Year: Drew Beam, Tennessee
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Ben Anderson, Georgia
Coach of the Year: Tony Vitello, Tennessee

First Team All-SEC

C: BT Riopelle, Florida

1B: Sonny DiChiara, Auburn

2B: RJ Yeager, Mississippi State

3B: Trey Lipscomb, Tennessee

SS: Jacob Gonzalez, Ole Miss

OF: Enrique Bradfield Jr., Vanderbilt

OF: Dylan Crews, LSU

OF: Drew Gilbert, Tennessee

SP: Chase Dollander, Tennessee

SP: Jonathan Cannon, Georgia

RP: Tyler Guilfoil, Kentucky

DH/UT: Dominic Keegan, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC

C: Logan Tanner, Mississippi State

1B: Tim Elko, Ole Miss

2B: Ryan Targac, Texas A&M

3B: Jacob Berry, LSU

SS: Josh Day, Missouri

OF: Wyatt Langford, Florida

OF: Spencer Jones, Vanderbilt

OF: Dylan Rock, Texas A&M

SP: Chase Burns, Tennessee

SP: Drew Beam, Tennessee

RP: Blake Burkhalter, Auburn

DH/UT: Brandt Belk, South Carolina*

DH/UT: Austin Bost, Texas A&M*

Freshman All-SEC Team

Chase Burns, SP, Tennessee

Drew Beam, SP, Tennessee

Brady Tygart, RP, Arkansas

Hunter Elliott, SP, Ole Miss

Hagen Smith, SP, Arkansas

Carter Holton, SP, Vanderbilt

Hunter Hines, INF/OF, Mississippi State

Blake Burke, 1B/OF, Tennessee

Brandon Neely, P, Florida

Devin Futrell, SP, Vanderbilt

Michael Braswell, INF/P, South Carolina

Dylan Ray, RP, Alabama*

Chris Cortez, RP, Texas A&M*

SEC All-Defensive Team

C: Logan Tanner, Mississippi State

1B: Tre’ Morgan, LSU

2B: Robert Moore, Arkansas

3B: Blake Rambusch, Auburn

SS: Ryan Ritter, Kentucky

OF: Enrique Bradfield, Jr., Vanderbilt

OF: Dylan Crews, LSU

OF: Drew Gilbert, Tennessee

P: Connor Noland, Arkansas

*Ties (Ties are not broken)

(Feature image credit: Josh McCoy, Ole Miss)

Evelyn Van Pelt
Evelyn Van Pelt

Evelyn has covered sports for over two decades, beginning her journalism career as a sports writer for a newspaper in Austin, Texas. She attended Texas A&M and majored in English. Evelyn’s love for Ole Miss began when her daughter Katie attended the university on a volleyball scholarship. Prior to founding The Rebel Walk, Evelyn was a sports writer for a newspaper in Texas. She created the Rebel Walk in 2013 and has served as publisher and managing editor since its inception.

Recruiting Updates

Visit The Rebel Walk Forum


Get RW Updates

Rebel Walk on Twitter

%d bloggers like this: