Select Page

Greg Little and Marquis Haynes appear on Outland, Bronko Nagurski Watch Lists

Greg Little and Marquis Haynes appear on Outland, Bronko Nagurski Watch Lists

Sophomore left tackle Greg Little made the Outland Trophy Watch List as the Football Writers Association of America announced its top 81 interior linemen on the final day of the Southeastern Conference Football Media Days.

The Outland Trophy presentation will be held on January 10, 2018 in Omaha, Nebraska. The Atlantic Coast Conference (17) led all conferences with members on the Watch List, followed by the Big Ten and SEC (11 each), Pac-12 (10), American Athletic (9), Big 12 and Mid-American (6 each), Independents and Mountain West (4 each), Conference USA (2), and Sun Belt (1).

The list includes 24 offensive tackles, 21 defensive tackles, 20 centers and 16 offensive guards.

Little comes into his second season with experience and will play with an offense that has a slew of talent at the wide receiver position, and a quarterback in Shea Patterson that has the ability to air the football deep downfield.

On the offensive line, Little will line up with the likes of Sean Rawlings, Rod Taylor, Jordan Sims, Alex Givens, and Daronte Bouldin, all players who started games last season for Ole Miss.

Marquis Haynes makes the Bronko Nagurski Watch List

Senior defensive end Marquis Haynes has been selected to the Bronko Nagurski Watch List for the nation’s most outstanding college football defensive player, as announced by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

A total of 103 defensive players made the list from all 10 Division 1 FBS conferences, including four returning players from last season. The ACC led all conferences with 20 players on the watch list, followed by the Big Ten (16), SEC (14), Pac-12 (13), Big 12 (11), American Athletic (10), Sun Belt (6), Mountain West (5), Independents (3), Mid-American (3), and Conference USA (2).

The list includes 30 defensive backs, 29 linebackers, 25 defensive ends and 19 defensive tackles. The annual Bronko Nagurski presentation will be held on December 4, 2017 at the Charlotte Convention Center.

On Monday, Haynes, the Chucky Mullins Courage Award winner for the 2017 season, was named to the Bednarik Award Watch List. After spring practices, Haynes was named to the Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List, and was tabbed a preseason third-team selection by Athlon Sports.

Haynes comes into his final season with the Ole Miss Rebels ranked third in school history in sacks (24.5), and fourth with 36.5 tackles for loss.

About The Author

Courtney Smith

Courtney is from Memphis and received his Bachelor's Degree in Fine Arts from the University of Memphis in May of 2014. He began his journalism career covering the Memphis Tigers Men's basketball team, which landed him an intern position on 730 Yahoo Sports Radio and a position with A freelance writer for the Associated Press, Courtney is also a member of The Rebel Walk team and reports regularly on Ole Miss football and basketball. Courtney, the father of a six-year old girl named Soniyah, prefers to cover NCAA basketball and football, but is happy to report on any other sport that comes his way.

Leave a Reply

Visit The Rebel Walk Forum


Get RW Updates

Rebel Walk on Twitter

%d bloggers like this: